3 MPS students, 3 MPS educators honored with Herb Kohl Foundation scholarships, fellowships

MPS has winners in all three categories: excellence scholarship, initiative scholarship and fellowship

Three Milwaukee Public Schools students and three Milwaukee Public Schools educators are 2014 Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship winners, the foundation announced Friday.

MPS’ honorees span the three categories: excellence scholarship, initiative scholarship and fellowship. The Herb Kohl Education Foundation is presenting $1,000 awards to 187 graduating Wisconsin high school students along with 100 teachers and their schools.

Excellence Scholarship recipients, as the Foundation notes, have demonstrated excellence in the academic area and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond.

Excellence Scholarship recipients are selected by a statewide committee, including civic leaders, representatives of education- related associations and the program’s cosponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS) and regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESAs).

Our 2014 Excellence Scholarship winner is Helen Fetaw, of MPS’ Rufus King International School – High School Campus.

Initiative Scholarship recipients are chosen by their schools, as the Foundation notes, and have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships.

Our 2014 Initiative Scholarship winners are Milton Byers of MPS’ Riverside University High School and Chaundra Pearson of MPS’ Ronald Reagan College Preparatory High School.

Fellowship recipients are chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and for their leadership and service within and outside of the classroom, according to the foundation.

The recipients are selected by the same statewide committee that selects Excellence Scholarship winners.

Our 2014 Fellowship recipients are Trina Jackson of MPS’ Riverside University High School, Misty Ellen Kreider of MPS’ Lincoln Avenue Elementary School and Migdalia Ortiz of MPS’ Vieau School.

About the program: The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, U.S. Senator (Retired) in 1990.

To date the foundation has awarded $8.6 million to Wisconsin educators, students and schools.

“Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation.

I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students and teachers, and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

Milwaukee-area honorees will be recognized by Senator Kohl on Sunday, March 30 at Brown Deer High School, 8060 N. 60th Street, Brown Deer WI 53233.