MPS students receive college scholarships

MPS Foundation, Herb Kohl Foundation, Briggs & Stratton, Marcus Corporation help 14 students continue education

Four organizations have announced the recipients of their scholarships for high school graduates in 2011. Following are the organizations and MPS student recipients:

Milwaukee Public Schools Scholarship

The Milwaukee Public Schools Scholarship program (MPS Scholarship) was established through generous funding provided by an anonymous donor to the Milwaukee Public Schools Foundation, Inc. (MPS Foundation) as a show of support for public education in Milwaukee and the state of Wisconsin, and in hopes that others will consider donating to the scholarship fund for students in the Milwaukee Public Schools.

For 2010-11, $5,000 scholarships will be available for students enrolled in the Milwaukee Public Schools to attend a public college or university in the state of Wisconsin. The scholarships may be renewed for up to three years pending successful completion of renewal criteria and availability of funding. The 2010-11 scholarships are dedicated in honor of Robert S. Peterkin, former Superintendent of Milwaukee Public Schools, 1988-1991. The 2010-2011 awardees are: Abida Bibi, Reagan; Jonathan Chestnut, Riverside; Lionelle Chinang, Milwaukee School of Languages; Johnathon Clay, Madison; and Brandon Schwebler, Reagan.

Herb Kohl Student Excellence Scholarship

The purpose of the Herb Kohl Excellence Scholarship program is to recognize student leadership, citizenship, school and community involvement, and academic achievement. It is the goal of the Herb Kohl Foundation to encourage Wisconsin youth to pursue post-secondary education in a public or nonpublic university, college, or vocational/ technical college. The Foundation awards $1,000 scholarships to 100 Wisconsin high school graduates each year. The MPS awardees are: Anders Goodwin, Rufus King; Madelynn Green, Rufus King; Stephanie Kalogriopoulos, Hamilton; and Ivette Zuniga, Hamilton.

Briggs & Stratton Corporation “Higher Horizons” Student Scholarship

The “Higher Horizons” Student Scholarship is made possible by the Briggs & Stratton Corporation. Briggs & Stratton is a long-standing committed business partner that has providedcountless scholarships to deserving youth in our community. The $1000 scholarships will be given to three graduating seniors of Milwaukee Public Schools who have made continuous progress inscholastic endeavors and who plan to attend a college, university, technical or vocational school.

The awardees are: Natalia Mercado, Wisconsin Career Academy; Isayah Phillips, Riverside; and Merve Senel, Wisconsin Career Academy.

Marcus Corporation “Turn Around Student” Scholarship

Again this year The Marcus Corporation has made it possible for two MPS students to receive a $1000 scholarship. The scholarships will be awarded to the students who have made the biggest turn around in high school and who plans to attend a college, technical or vocational program or school within the school year 2011-2012. The scholarships will go to: Ciera Sutton, Rufus King; and Larry Williams, Vincent.

“All of us in Milwaukee Public Schools are proud of the accomplishments of these students and all of our graduating seniors,” said Superintendent Dr. Gregory E. Thornton. “It is wonderful to see all of their hard work paying off and we wish them continued success in college and beyond.”

High school graduation ceremonies in Milwaukee Public Schools began May 25 and continue through June 17. More than 4,000 seniors are successfully graduating this year.

Visit Milwaukee Public Schools on the Web at Follow us on Twitter @MilwaukeeMPS. Media questions should be directed to Philip Harris in the MPS Division of Communications and Public Affairs at (414) 475-8902.